You are here: Home News News 2010

News 2010

E-mail Print PDF

A report on the 22nd All India Summer School on
Prakrit Language & Literature 2010


Bhogilal Leherchand Institute of Indology, Delhi, organized its 22nd All India Summer School on Prakrit Language and Literature from 9th May to 30th May 2010. The valedictory function was held on 30th May at 10.30 A.M.

The Guest of Honour of the function was Dr. (Mrs.) Neeru Mishra, Director, Indian Council of Cultural Relations, New Delhi.  She appreciated the efforts of the BLII in organizing this course continuously for the past 22 years in preserving the rich values of Prakrit language and literature.

The Chief Guest of the function was Prof. Namwar Singh, a well known scholar in the Academic world and also a Hindi critic.  He appreciated the valuable contribution made by the Jain community in upholding the national heritage of our country by preserving the valuable rare manuscripts and also organizing Seminars and Lectures on various topics.  He also spoke about his long standing personal association with BLII. Shri Bhanwar Lal Doshi, Director, D. R. International Pvt. Ltd., also welcomed this unique activity on this event.

On this occasion, Shri N. P. Jain, Vice-Chairman and Shri Raj Kumar Jain, President also spoke about the activities of BLII and also the other activities going on in this complex.

Dr. Balaji Ganorkar who compared the entire programme announced the results of the first, second and third prize of Elementary and Advanced courses.  The first prize of Rs. 2,100/- was sponsored by Jaswanta Dharmarth Trust and the Second and Third Prize of Rs.1,500/- and 1,100/- was sponsored by Enkay Charitable Trust.

The result of the Prakrit Quit held on 29th May 2010 was also announced by the Director of the Institute, Dr. Balaji Ganorkar.  The awardees of first, second and third prize were given a cash prize of Rs.1000/-, Rs.500/- and Rs.250/-.

The faculties namely, Dr. J R Bhattacharya, Prof. Damodar Shastri, Dr. K. K. Jain, Dr. Ashok Kumar Singh have also spoken about the methodology of teaching.  Some of the participants have also spoken about the arrangements made by the authorities and they shared their experiences with the audience.

Emeritus  Prof. S. R. Banerjee, Dr. Anita Bandopandhya, Prof. J. R. Bhattacharya, Dr. Kamal Kumar Jain, Dr. Ashok Singh, Kum. Shefali, Mrs. Shalini Saraswat, Dr. Roopa Mudra, Dr. Uttar Singh, Dr. Balaji Ganorkar have in all taught 220 classes to the participants. In addition to the above, there was a special lecture delivered by Dr. Baldevanand Sagar, In-charge, Sanskrit News, All India Radio.

The program started with the Lightening of the lamp by the guests followed by Saraswati Vandana by Km.  Rajni Singh. Prof. J. P. Vidyalankar, former Director of the BLII proposed vote of thanks. 


News 2010